News Releases | December 17, 2021

2022 Annual Meeting and Election of Directors

An election for four places on the Board of Directors is scheduled on April 4, 2022,* in conjunction with the UFCU Annual Meeting.

Chairman of the Board C Cale McDowell, JD appointed a Governance/Nominating Committee chaired by Kathryn E Hoyt. The Committee nominated the following Members to serve as UFCU Directors for three-year terms: Linus N Akanoh, Jr, Kathryn E Hoyt, C Cale McDowell, JD, and Thomas A Miranda. UFCU bylaws permit other nominations by petition if signed by 500 qualified Members and, together with a statement of qualifications and signed certificate stating the nominee is agreeable to such nomination and will serve if elected, is submitted to the office of the UFCU Director, Assurance Services by 5 PM Central Standard Time on February 3, 2022. A formal election will occur only if there exists one or more petition candidates. Bylaws do not allow nominations from the floor at the annual meeting when one or more candidates exist for each open position.

For more information about the election process, including how to obtain related documents, please contact the office of the UFCU Director, Assurance Services at (800) 252-8311 or (512) 467-8080 x 22312.

Annual Membership Meeting

Monday, April 4, 2022* | 5:30 PM*
UFCU Plaza Event Center* | 8303 N MoPac Expy, Austin, TX

Nominated to fill a 3-year term to expire 2025

Linus N Akanoh, Jr

Linus N Akanoh, Jr is a Principal with Deloitte Risk and Financial Advisory. He has more than 14 years of diversified professional services experience in the areas of crisis management, business process transformation, and disaster recovery grants management. In his current role, he helps commercial and public sector clients navigate the risks and opportunities associated with large-scale disaster events and crises. Mr Akanoh has worked as adjunct faculty at the Bill Munday School of Business at St. Edward’s University. He currently serves on the board of directors for Junior Achievement of Central Texas and the board of trustees for St. Edward’s University.

Nominated to fill a 3-year term to expire 2025

Kathryn E Hoyt

Kathryn E Hoyt, is a finance and operations professional with more than a decade of experience in the healthcare, small business, and nonprofit industries. She has a BS in Business Administration with concentrations in Management, Marketing, and International Business from the University of Southern Maine and an MBA in Healthcare management and Change Leadership from Johns Hopkins Carey Business School. Philanthropically, Ms Hoyt has spent the last year continuing her tenure as a Big Brothers Big Sisters volunteer and served on the UFCU board of directors. Ms Hoyt has always been passionate about supporting nonprofits, especially those targeting the needs of children. She has been involved with a variety of nonprofits for more than 20 years. She grew up in the Northeast and made Maine, Rhode Island, Spain, and Italy home before settling in Austin in 2009.

Nominated to fill a 3-year term to expire 2025

C Cale McDowell, JD

C Cale McDowell, JD is a partner in Jackson Walker’s Corporate & Securities group and a member of its Mergers & Acquisitions, Fund Formation, Private Equity, International and Real Estate practices. Mr McDowell represents public and private companies, investor groups, and investment fund sponsors in a broad array of engagements, including mergers, acquisitions and divestitures, the structuring and formation of investment funds, joint ventures and other entities, offerings of debt and equity securities, and general corporate governance, securities, and transactional matters. His clients include private equity funds, private real estate investment funds, public and private real estate investment trusts, hedge funds and family offices, as well as large publicly traded operating companies, privately held companies, and startup ventures in a wide variety of industries.

Nominated to fill a 3-year term to expire 2025

Thomas A Miranda

Thomas A Miranda has led rapidly scaled product lines for nearly two decades within high growth Fortune 100 firms HP Palo Alto, Dell, and Cisco. His experience ranges from product engineering, corporate development & Enterprise IT to operating and management. He is President of Sparkovation Advisors, a management consulting and technology advisory firm that advises start-ups and corporations to discover new top-line value through product/service differentiation, digital business strategy, and technical leadership.

His journey began prior to attending community college, and to this day he is compelled to be involved in social impact causes, including education, workforce development, entrepreneurship, diversity, and inclusion. Mr Miranda has served as a past board chair of The Austin Hispanic Chamber of Commerce, Mission Capital, Austin Ed Fund, and EGBI, and he has served on the boards of Leadership Austin, Capital Area Workforce Development, Texas Lyceum, Greater Austin Black Chamber of Commerce, ATA, CAF, and the Austin Area Research Organization, to name a few.

He graduated from UTSA with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical/Computer Engineering, and has earned project management and executive leadership credentials from George Washington University, Stanford University, and MIT.

* Date, time, and location are subject to change. Please visit UFCU.org/Events for the latest details.